Echo from Ariel Trio Concert at ICS4

The ICS4 concert with the Ariel Trio on 24th Feb. had the following programme:

Max Bruch – Eight Pieces for Violin, Viola, and Piano, Op. 83
Gregers Brinch “Joy and Woe”, Op.102, No.2
Handel – Halvorsen – Passacaglia
Interval (15 minutes)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Duo for Violin and Viola, No.2, K.424
Johannes Brahms Trio in E-flat Major for Viola (Horn), Violin, and Piano, Op. 40

This arrived before midnight the same day:

Dear Mr Brinch,

I live in London, so I am privileged to attend wonderful concerts and plays every week.
There are a few performances one remembers for the rest of one’s life because they touch the soul.
Tonight’s concert at the Steiner Theatre was one of those wonderful experiences for me.
I loved  (your piece) “Joy and Woe”. It was amazing that as a new work it took its place happily amongst the pantheon of great composers we heard this evening. I was lifted up and moved deeply in turn.
The playing by Michael Hampton, Rivka Golani, and Tadasuke Iijima was sublime. They created a superb programme and gave of themselves heart and soul.
Thank you from my own heart.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s